Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS framework sets the standards for learning, development, and care for children from birth up to 5 years of age. The principles, which guide the work of our Early Years Professionals, are grouped into four themes:
A Unique Child - Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident, and self-assured
Positive Relationships - Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person
Enabling Environments - The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning
Learning and Development - Children develop and learn in different ways and at different times; all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.
Areas of Learning and Development
There are six areas in which our Early Years Professionals support children to learn and develop. These are:
  • Creative Development
  • Physical Development
  • Social, Personal and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language, and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning, and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World.